Can’t Sleep

I remember the days when my Mom would say “I couldn’t sleep because I was worried something was going to happen to y’all,” when we were out all night… We use to laugh it off but if I didn’t understand that feeling before I definitely understand it feel it now more than ever.
My brothers, my father or my friends could be next..

Frighten that I will receive a phone call that will change my life forever.
THEY CAN’T SLEEP
Knowing they could be next. 

Knowing that they are a target.

Walking around paranoid hoping they don’t get caught slipping. 

Cringing in their seats when a cop pulls up next to them not knowing what the next few moments hold for them…
MY BROTHERS CAN’T SLEEP
Haunted by the videos of innocent BLACK men being killed by cops. Haunted by the thoughts of what could be…
Just hoping and praying

Hoping and praying that they make it back from the store safely.
THEY WON’T SLEEP BECAUSE THEY ARE AFRAID
& like you brothers I am also afraid. Afraid that you will be next. Afraid that your life will be slain over something slight. They can’t be you so they rather kill you. Can’t you see brothers!? With all your glowing skin, knowledge and power you are like GOLD to them. So since they can no longer BUY you and OWN you they rather get rid of what could possibly take over them..
I fear for all of your lives but I will not let fear stop me from standing up for what’s right. I will stand on the front line until they hear our cry! I will rise up and protect the precious jewel you are. 
WHEN YOU ARE WEAK AND AFRAID

I will stay strong & brave for you! 
Black men you are loved. 

Keep your heads up! 

Leave a Reply

